WordPress is undoubtedly the most popular content management software in the entire world. It is used to build millions of websites across the planet. Still, there may very well come a time when you decide that you no longer want or need your WordPress account.
When this happens, you may feel the need to delete your old account. Thankfully, this isn’t going to be too difficult. You just need to follow a few basic steps.
Once you’ve done that, your account will be deleted and you’ll no longer have access to it. So, how do you delete a WordPress account? You’ll find out in the comprehensive guide provided below.
Why would anyone want to delete their WordPress account? Isn’t it the best CMS on the planet? Well, there may very well come a time when you decide to do so. You may find out that your blog isn’t as successful as you once thought it might be.
Or, you may decide that your blog has stirred up too much controversy. You may end up losing your anonymity and wish to recover it.
One of the best ways to remedy these problems is by deleting the blog permanently. Is it even possible to completely delete a WordPress account? You’re about to find out.
What Can You Delete?
In reality, it is not possible to delete an account. Instead, you’ll be able to delete parts of the account and that is it. For instance, you can delete your blog and you can remove all of the information from your account.
The only problem here is that deleting your blog is going to have irreparable effects. Once it has been deleted, you will not be able to recycle or reuse the blog name in the future. Nevertheless, you may feel that it is worth in the long run.
Remember that the process of closing your account cannot be reversed completely. Therefore, you should be cautious and make sure you’re positive before moving forward. Otherwise, you might regret it in the long run.
If this is the case, you’ll be happy to know that deleting your account won’t take more than a few minutes. When you’re ready to begin, you should follow the steps below.
Deleting Your WordPress Site
Before attempting to delete your account, you’ll want to delete your site completely. It is paramount that you follow the instructions completely.
Otherwise, you may not be able to access your account and that would make it impossible for you to delete your WordPress site. In order to begin the process of deleting the site, you should go ahead and visit the appropriate link.
The link is http://en.support.wordpress.com/delete-site/. This will provide you with a wealth of information regarding deleting your account. Be sure to choose the option that you prefer the most.
Follow the steps below to delete your site.
- Access your website by clicking on My Sites
- Click on the Settings option in the menu
- At the bottom, you will find Delete your site permanently. Click this option
Once you’ve done this, you will be provided with the option of exporting your content in advance. It is entirely up to you whether or not you want to take your data elsewhere. If you do, the content will be downloaded and compresses in .zip format. This will allow you to upload your website elsewhere.
After that, you will just need to confirm that you wish to delete your site. Do that and click the Delete this Site button. After that, your site will be deleted permanently.
Closing Your Account
Are you confident that you will no longer use your account again in the future? If so, you should go ahead and close your account. Again, this process is pretty easy.
You just need to visit the WordPress website and log in to your account. Once you’ve done that, you should access your account settings. Here, you will find an option that allows you to Close your account permanently.
This is the best way to get rid of everything in one shot. It will delete all of your sites and permanently close your account. Again, this process cannot be reversed after a certain period of time.
Be certain that you wish to delete everything before jumping forward. Otherwise, you may end up regretting your decision.
You may eventually decide that deleting your account isn’t your best option. If you feel this way, you’ll be happy to know you have other options at your disposal. If you do not want to delete your account, you can always change your username.
This is a good way to hide your account for the time being. You also have the option of emptying your site, deleting a specific site, and unsubscribing to email notifications. It is in your best interest to consider these options in advance.
Otherwise, you might make a big mistake on a whim. Either way, it is best to be positive and confident in your actions before making your final decision.
Restoring An Account
There is a real possibility that you’re going to regret your decision. If this is the case and you act quick enough, you may be able to restore the account. You’ll need to make this happen within a period of 30 days after closing your account.
To restore your account, you should contact the company directly. Tell them about your problem and they’ll begin taking steps to rectify it immediately. Again, remember that this needs to be done within the 30-day window.
At the end of the day, there may very well come a time when you feel it is pertinent to delete your WordPress site and account.
Just remember that doing so is permanent. Your account closure can be reversed for a short period of time, but you’ll need to act quickly. If you do not, your actions are going to be permanent.
With this in mind, you should think things through thoroughly in advance. Do not delete anything until you’re positive that you really want to do so.
Are you looking for a cloud WordPress hosting provider? Here are 10 Of The Best WordPress Hosting
- Readers Rating
- No Rating Yet!
- Your Rating